I Love You Grandpa

Grandpa, it is hard to believe that it has been thirty-one years,

Since cancer ripped you from my life, awash with tears.

Scrubbing on the dishes, not knowing what else to do.

Hearing Grandma’s anguished cry, I knew I had lost you.

I miss you Grandpa – your sense of humor and ready wit,

You were an unique combination of kindness, strength and grit.
I tried to fill your gigantic shoes; though I didn’t do very well,

But you would tell me on the negative not to dwell.

 

I can’t help but ponder how things would have been if cancer never took you,

Because it was you who held the family together; you were that special glue.

 

Grandpa & I used to fish here. Photo courtesy of Bing.

164caoceanside

Leave a Reply

